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Iowa Judicial Branch  

2018 Legislative Session Summary 

18-Jun-18  

The following report is a summary of bills the 87th Iowa General Assembly approved that directly affect the work 

of the courts or may otherwise be of interest to judges and court personnel.  This summary does not provide 

references to every section of every bill nor is it a complete statement of each and every bill.  To view an electronic 

copy of a particular signed-enrolled bill, click on the bill title; to find the complete text and history of a particular 

bill, visit https://www.legis.iowa.gov/ and use the “BILLS:  Quick Search” search box located on the far left column 

of your screen.  Letters denote: HF—House File; SF—Senate File.  Sydney Gangestad, Judicial Branch Legislative 

Liaison, prepared this summary.  Many summaries referenced were drafted in part by the staff of the Legislative 

Services Agency. 
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Appropriations  

HF2495—JUDICIAL BRANCH (JB) APPROPRIATION  
 $180.7 million from GF to JB for FY2019 

  $177,574,797 million for operations (+$3,500,000 compared to net FY 18)  

  $3,100,000 million for jury and witness fund 

 Policy 

 The JB must focus efforts on collecting delinquent fines and fees. 

 The JB must operate clerk of court offices in all 99 counties and be accessible to the public as 

much as reasonably possible. 

Effective July 1, 2018. 

  

https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/publications/LGE/87/Attachments/HF2495_GovLetter.pdf
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HF2492—JUSTICE SYSTEMS APPROPRIATION 

 Policy 

 Requires JB and the department of corrections (DOC) to study effectiveness and recidivism rates 

of persons assigned to specialty courts of JB, in cooperation with Criminal & Juvenile Justice 

Planning (CJJP), department of human services (DHS), and Community Based Corrections (CBCs).  

The National Center for State Courts (NCSC) may be utilized.  JB shall file a report detailing cost-

effectiveness by 1/15/2019.  

 Increases small claims cap under chapter 631 to $6,500 for cases commenced on or after July 1, 

2018; amount reverts to $5,000 if court finds $6,500 amount unconstitutional.  

 Requires the CBCs terminate the use of pretrial risk assessment pilot programs effective upon 

enactment. Note:  This provision was line item vetoed by Governor Reynolds.1 

Effective July 1, 2018 

HF2502—STANDINGS APPROPRIATION  
$113,100,100 to the State Cash Reserve Fund for FY 2019 

Substantive provisions 

 Division VI Expert witness—Podiatry  

Amends section 147.139 to permit a person certified in a specialty by the Council on Podiatric 

Medical Education to serve as an expert witness if the defendant is certified in the same specialty; 

permits a general physician, osteopathic physician, or a podiatric physician licensed in Iowa or 

another state to service as an expert witness if the defendant is a licensed podiatric physician in 

Iowa. 

 

 

                                                           
1 Governor Reynold’s veto message re:  HF2492—“I disapprove of these sections because I believe 
that we should consider and study ways to create a fairer pretrial system that protects the 
public. But I also understand that the legislature and other stakeholders have questions about 
the PSA and whether it considers all of the appropriate factors. For that reason, I am instructing 
the agencies of the executive branch to continue their participation in this pilot program 
until December 31, 2018. At that time, the pilot will be concluded and further use of this 
assessment suspended until the data from the pilot can be analyzed. If, after studying the data 
and research conclusions, it is found that this program will be in the best interests of the public, 
then new legislation should be considered that authorizes the PSA or similar risk-assessment 
tools. I want to also emphasize that, even during the short pendency of the pilot project, the PSA 
does not and should not replace the judge’s discretion. The PSA is but one piece of information 
and the ultimate decision rests with each person sitting on the bench.” 

 

https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/publications/LGE/87/Attachments/HF2492_GovLetter.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/631.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/publications/LGE/87/Attachments/HF2502_GovLetter.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/147.139.pdf
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 Division VIII—Dramshop 

Amends SF2169 (Dramshop Liability Act) to specifiy that $250K as the amount payable for damages 

sustained by any third party who is not the intoxicated person who caused injury, or the person who 

sustained bodily harm or damages to property by an intoxicated person.   

 Division X—Sexually Violent Predators 

Permits a person committed under section 229A.8 to waive the requirement that a final hearing be 

held within 60 days of the court’s determination that a final hearing should be held.  The committed 

person may reassert a demand that a final hearing be held within 60 days from the date of filing the 

demand with the clerk of district court.  In addition, the final hearing may be continued at request of 

either party and a showing of good cause, or by the court on its own motion in the due 

administration of justice, and if the committed person is not substantially prejudiced. 

Sealed documents described in section 229A.15(1) are required to be available to the prosecuting 

attorney/attorney general, the committed person, and the attorney for the committed person, 

without a court order. 

 Division XI—Earned Time 

Inmates committed to the DOC who are required to participate in a sex offender/domestic abuse 

treatment program are not eligible for any reduction of sentence under chapter 903A until the 

inmate completes the required program; the inmate may be ordered to forfeit any and all earned 

time if they fail to complete the required program.  (Response to State v. Iowa District Court for 

Jones County (2017)). 

 Division XXV—Revocation of Driver’s License for Drug-Related Convictions 

Strikes section 901.5(10), which revokes a defendant’s driver’s license for 180 days if the defendant 

is sentenced for a controlled substance offense under sections 124.401, 124.401A, 124.402, or 

124.03.  Makes conforming changes and provides that if a defendant’s driver’s license was 

suspended or revoked pursuant to section 901.5(10) prior to the effective date of the section that it 

be reinstate if the defendant is otherwise eligible for a DL. 

Contingent effective date:  The section becomes effective when the Governor submits to the U.S. 

Secretary of Transportation a written certification that the Governor is opposed to the enforcement 

in Iowa of a law described in 23 U.S.C. section 159(a)(3)(A), and a written certification that the 

General Assembly has adopted a join resolution expressing its opposition to the same, in accordance 

with 23 U.S.C. section 159(a)(3)(B). 

Effective July 1, 2018  

https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/publications/LGE/87/Attachments/SF2169_GovLetter.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/229A.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/229A.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/229A.pdf
https://www.iowacourts.gov/courtcases/162/embed/SupremeCourtOpinion
https://www.iowacourts.gov/courtcases/162/embed/SupremeCourtOpinion
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/901.5.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/124.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/124.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/901.5.pdf
https://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/USCODE-2011-title23/pdf/USCODE-2011-title23-chap1-sec159.pdf
https://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/USCODE-2011-title23/pdf/USCODE-2011-title23-chap1-sec159.pdf


6 | P a g e  
 

SF2414—TRANSPORTATION, INFRASTRUCTURE, & CAPITALS APPROPRIATION 

Capitals 

$1,464,705 Polk County Justice Center—unexpected funds appropriated remain available for 

expenditure until the end of FY2022 

Technology Reinvestment Fund 

$3,000,000 Judicial Branch technology projects—includes cyber security projects, EDMS improvements, 

and other software improvements  

Effective July 1, 2018 

SF2418—HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES APPROPRIATION  
$34,536,648 Group foster care maintenance and services (-$1,200,001 compared to net FY 18) 

 $1,717,753 DECAT (no change) 

 $3,290,000 Court ordered services (no change) 

 $17,000 Interstate commission (no change) 

 $12,253,227 Juvenile delinquent graduated sanctions (no change)  

Policy 

 Section 69:  Chapter 230—Support of Persons with Mental Illness 

“State case” struck as an option for determining residency under chapter 230, court must determine 

residence is in the county, another state, or a foreign country. 

“Department” struck from certifying residency determinations; 120 days from receiving bill to 

dispute residency/notify responsible residency. 

 Division XVI:  Section 229A.2—Commitment for Sexually Violent Predators 

Eliminates provisions permitting a person committed as a sexually violent predator under chapter 

229A to be released from a secure facility or a transitional release program without supervision.   

Eliminates requirement that a hearing be held within five days of the committed person’s return to 

a secure facility after the person absconds from a transitional release program; the hearing will now 

be held after an evaluation is performed.  Alleviates the Judicial District Department of Correctional 

Services of liability for acts committed by a committed person who has been ordered released with 

supervision. 

 Section 104:  Section 232.68—Juvenile Justice  

Modifies the criteria for allowing access to a registered sex offender to establish that the offense 

applies to a person responsible for the care of a child who knowingly allows access to the child to a 

person who is required to register on the sex offender registry, and provides some exceptions. 

https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/publications/LGE/87/Attachments/SF2414_GovLetter.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/publications/LGE/87/Attachments/SF2418_GovLetter.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/2016/230.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/2016/230.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/229A.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/229A.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/229A.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/232.68.pdf
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 Division XX:  Section 233A.1—Training School 

States that the Eldora State Training School is for court-committed male juvenile delinquents; 

eliminates references to the Toledo State Training School. 

 Section 128:  Medicaid Program Administration 

If a Medicaid member is receiving court-ordered services or treatment for a substance-related 

disorder pursuant to Iowa Code 125 or for a mental illness pursuant to Iowa Code 229, the services 

or treatment are required to be provided and reimbursed for an initial period of three days be an 

MCO may apply medical necessity criteria to determine the most appropriate services, treatment, or 

placement for the Medicaid member.  

 Division XXVI:  Section 229.5A—Hospitalization of Persons with Mental Illness 

Strikes the requirement that the SCA prescribe practices and procedures for implementing a 

preapplication screening assessment (PSA) program under section 229.64.  Note:  The Division does 

not strike the requirement that the SCA prescribe practices and procedures for implementing a PSA 

program under section 125.74. DHS has been designated to adopt rules relating to civil commitment 

prescreening assessments in HF2456.  HF2456 is effective on 7/1/18. 

Effective July 1, 2018 

Joint Resolutions 

HJR2009—AMENDMENT TO THE STATE CONSTITUTION RELATING TO THE RIGHT 

TO KEEP AND BEAR ARMS 
This joint resolution proposes an amendment to the Constitution of the State of Iowa providing that the right of 

the people to keep and bear arms shall not be infringed. The sovereign state of Iowa affirms and recognizes this 

right to be a fundamental individual right. Any and all restrictions of this right shall be subject to strict scrutiny. 

The resolution, if adopted, would be published and then referred to the next general assembly (88th) for 

adoption, before being submitted to the electorate for ratification. 

SJR2006—GUBERNATORIAL LINE OF SUCCESSION  
This joint resolution proposes an amendment to the Constitution of the State of Iowa relating to the 

consequences of a governor becoming temporarily or permanently unable to perform the duties of the 

governor.  

   The resolution, if adopted, would be published and then referred to the next general assembly (88th) for 

adoption, before being submitted to the electorate for ratification. 

  

https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/233A.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/229.5A.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/229.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/125.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/publications/LGE/87/Attachments/HF2456_GovLetter.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/publications/LGE/87/Attachments/HF2456_GovLetter.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/publications/LGE/87/Attachments/HJR2009_EnrolledBill.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/publications/LGE/87/Attachments/HJR2009_EnrolledBill.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/legislation/BillBook?ga=87&ba=SJR%202006&v=e
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SJR2007—REVOCATION, SUSPENSION, ISSUANCE, OR REINSTATEMENT OF DRIVER’S 

LICENSES TO CONVICTED DRUG OFFENDERS 
This joint resolution states the general assembly’s opposition to a law in this state that meets the requirements 

of a law described in 23 U.S.C. §159(a)(3)(A), relating to the revocation, suspension, issuance, or reinstatement 

of driver’s licenses to convicted drug offenders. Once the resolution is adopted, the governor submits a written 

certification to the secretary of the United States department of transportation (secretary) that the general 

assembly has adopted the resolution, and the governor also submits a written certification to the secretary that 

the governor is opposed to the enactment or enforcement of such a law, the state will be permitted to repeal 

and stop enforcement of such a law without the loss of federal highway funds. 

See also Division XXV of HF2502. 

 

The resolution takes effect upon enactment.   

Civil 

HF2371—EXEMPTING STATE AND MUNICIPALITIES FROM LIABILITY FOR CLAIMS 

INVOLVING HONEYBEES 
Amends the Iowa Tort Claims Act (chapter 669) and the Iowa Municipal Tort Claims Act (chapter 670) to create 

an exemption from liability for claims related to constructed honeybee hives on public property against state 

agencies and municipalities, provided that the state agency, municipality, or beehive owner acted reasonably 

and in good faith. 

Effective July 1, 2018 

HF2407—APPLICATION OF PESTICIDES INTO LAKES 
Prohibits a person from discharging a pesticide into a natural lake, or an artificial lake connected to a natural 

lake, that is used as a source water for water supplies unless the person is certified to apply the pesticide 

pursuant to chapter 206.  Violations are subject to a civil penalty in the amount of $1,000. 

Effective July 1, 2018 

HF2414—PROVISION OF MEDICAL SUPPORT IN CHILD SUPPORT ACTIONS 
Amends provisions relating to medical support for a child, based on the final rule adopted by the centers for 

Medicare and Medicaid services and the administration for children and families of the United States 

department of health and human services on December 20, 2016, pursuant to Executive Order 13563 of January 

18, 2011. Under 45 C.F.R. subtitle B, chapter III, section 303.31, specifically, states are provided with flexibility to 

permit parents to meet their medical support obligations by providing health care coverage or payment for 

medical expenses that are reasonable in cost and best meet the health care needs of the child, and clarifies that 

health care coverage includes public and private coverage.  

https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/publications/LGE/87/Attachments/SJR2007_GovLetter.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/publications/LGE/87/Attachments/SJR2007_GovLetter.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/publications/LGE/87/Attachments/HF2371_GovLetter.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/publications/LGE/87/Attachments/HF2371_GovLetter.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/669.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/670.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/publications/LGE/87/Attachments/HF2407_GovLetter.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/206.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/publications/LGE/87/Attachments/HF2414_GovLetter.pdf
https://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/CFR-2012-title3-vol1/pdf/CFR-2012-title3-vol1-eo13563.pdf
https://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/CFR-2012-title3-vol1/pdf/CFR-2012-title3-vol1-eo13563.pdf
https://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/CFR-2013-title45-vol2/pdf/CFR-2013-title45-vol2-sec303-31.pdf
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When ordering medical support the court can order support either by providing and paying for the medical 

needs of a dependent through a health benefit plan, including public coverage, or the payment of cash medical 

support. Conditions for determining whether medical support is to be provided through a health benefit plan 

other than public coverage or through public coverage and whether the custodial or noncustodial parent is 

required to provide health care coverage. Under certain circumstances, the court can also ordered cash medical 

support if a health plan other than public coverage is not available to either parent at the time of the entry of 

the order.   

The “premium cost for a child to the parent” ordered to provide coverage means the amount of the premium 

cost for single coverage, regardless of the number of individuals covered under the plan.  Strikes the provision 

related reducing the amount of the health insurance premium deduction a parent may be entitled to when 

calculating the amount of child support obligation under Iowa Court Rule 9.5 of the child support guidelines.   

Provides a process and order of priority to be followed when the child support recovery unit (CSRU) enters or 

seeks an order for medical support. Directs the department of human services to adopt rules pursuant to Code 

chapter 17A as necessary to administer the bill, but provides that until such time as rules are adopted the CSRU 

may initiate proceedings to establish and modify support orders in accordance with chapter 252E, and may, to 

the extent appropriate, apply and utilize procedures, rules, and forms substantially similar to those applicable 

and utilized pursuant to section 252E.1B for proceedings initiated in accordance with section 252E.1A. 

Effective October 1, 2018 

An order, decree, or judgment entered before October 1, 2018 that provides for the support of a child may be 

modified in accordance. 

SF385—REVISED UNIFORM ATHLETES AGENT ACT 
Revises the Uniform Athlete Agents Act under chapter 9A. 

Provides that an educational institution or a student athlete may bring an action for damages against an athlete 

agent if the institution or athlete is adversely affected by an act or omission of the agent in violation of Code 

chapter 9A (Uniform Athletes Agents Act).  An educational institution or student athlete is adversely affected by 

an act or omission of the agent only if, because of the act or omission, the institution or an individual who was a 

student athlete at the time of the act or omission and enrolled in the institution, either is suspended or 

disqualified from participation in an interscholastic or intercollegiate sports event by or under the rules of a 

state or national federation or association that promotes or regulates interscholastic or intercollegiate sports, or 

suffers financial damage. 

A plaintiff who prevails in an action under the Act may recover actual damages, and costs and reasonable 

attorney fees.  An athlete agent found liable under the Act section forfeits any right of payment by the student 

athlete and must refund any consideration paid to the agent by or on behalf of the student athlete. A violation 

of chapter 9A is an unlawful practice under section 714.16 (consumer fraud) and the provisions of that section 

relating to investigation, injunctive relief, and penalties also apply to chapter 9A; a corresponding change is 

made to section 714.16 specifying that it is an unlawful practice for an athlete agent to violate any of the 

provisions of chapter 9A. 

Effective July 1, 2018 

https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ACO/CR/LINC/05-22-2013.Supplement.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/17A.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/252E.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/252E.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/252E.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/publications/LGE/87/Attachments/SF385_GovLetter.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/9A.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/9A.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/9A.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/2013/714.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/9A.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/2013/714.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/9A.pdf
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SF2169—LIMITING LIABILITY OF AN ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE LICENSEE  
Limits the liability of an alcoholic beverage licensee or permittee for certain alcohol-related injuries, commonly 

referred to as the Dramshop Act (section 123.92). 

Provides that damages are available to a third party who is not the intoxicated person who caused the injury at 

issue, and that a licensee or permittee is liable only if the licensee or permittee sold and served any beer, wine, 

or intoxicating liquor directly to the intoxicated person, provided that the person was visibly intoxicated at the 

time of the sale or service. 

Provides that the total amount recoverable by each plaintiff in any civil action for noneconomic damages for 

personal injury, whether in tort, contract, or otherwise, against a licensee or permittee, is limited to $250,000 

for any injury or death of a person, unless the jury determines that there is substantial or permanent loss or 

impairment of bodily function, substantial disfigurement, or death, which warrants a finding that imposition of a 

limitation would deprive the plaintiff of just compensation for the injuries sustained. 

Effective July 1, 2018 

SF2200—REGULATING VETERANS BENEFIT SERVICES AND REQUIRING CERTAIN 

DISCLOSURE  
Provides that a violation of this new chapter (chapter 546B) is a violation of section 714.16 (an unfair practice 

related to consumer frauds).  Code section 714.16 provides for the ability of the attorney general to obtain 

injunctive relief related to the unfair practice and the ability to recover a civil penalty of up to $40,000 per 

violation.  Under the new Code chapter, any amount recovered for a violation of the new Code chapter shall be 

deposited in the veterans’ trust fund. 

Effective July 1, 2018 

Criminal 

HF2196—TEXTING WHILE DRIVING A COMMERCIAL MOTOR VEHICLE 
Creates a new section of chapter 321 (section 321.449B) that prohibits a person subject to the department of 

transportation’s motor carrier safety rules from operating a commercial motor vehicle while engaged in texting 

or while using a hand-held mobile telephone as prohibited by federal regulations, except in an emergency or as 

otherwise permitted under such federal regulations. 

A violation of the new provision is a simple misdemeanor punishable by a scheduled fine of $50 and is 

considered a moving violation. However, a conviction for a violation of the provision shall be in lieu of a 

conviction for a violation of section 321.276 (use of electronic communication device while driving) if the 

violations are based on the same facts and circumstances.  A violation of new provision is included on the list of 

traffic offenses for which additional penalties may be imposed if the violation causes serious injury or death. If 

the violation causes a serious injury, a court could impose an additional fine of $500 or suspend the person’s 

driver’s license for not more than 90 days, or both. If the violation causes a death, a court could impose an 

additional fine of $1,000 or suspend the person’s driver’s license for not more than 180 days, or both. 

Effective July 1, 2018 

https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/publications/LGE/87/Attachments/SF2169_GovLetter.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/2018/123.92.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/publications/LGE/87/Attachments/SF2200_GovLetter.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/publications/LGE/87/Attachments/SF2200_GovLetter.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/714.16.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/714.16.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/publications/LGE/87/Attachments/HF2196_GovLetter.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/2018/321.276.pdf
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HF2199—ILLEGAL USE OF SCANNING DEVICE 
ILLEGAL USE OF SCANNING DEVICE OR ENCODING MACHINE 

Under section 10 the forgery chapter (chapter 715A), replaces the term “reencoder” with the term “encoding 

machine.” Defines “encoding machine” to mean an electronic device that is used to encode information to a 

payment card. Expands the definition of “merchant” to include an establishing financial institution referred to in 

section 524.5.  Modifies the definition of “payment card” to include an access device as defined in section 527.2.  

Modifies the term “scanning device” to include a wireless access device, a radio frequency identification 

scanner, an electronic device that utilizes near field communications technology, and any other electronic device 

used to access, read, scan, obtain, memorize, or store information encoded on a payment card. 

A person commits a class “D” felony under the bill if the person directly or indirectly uses a scanning device to 

access, read, obtain, memorize, or store, temporarily or permanently, information encoded on a payment card 

without the permission of the authorized user, the issuer of the authorized user’s payment card, or a merchant. 

A person commits a class “D” felony under the bill if the person directly or indirectly uses an encoding machine 

to place information encoded on a payment card onto a different payment card without the permission of the 

authorized user, the issuer of the authorized user’s payment card, or a merchant.  

A person shall not possess a scanning device with the intent to use such device to obtain information encoded 

on a payment card without permission of the authorized user, the issuer of the authorized user’s payment card, 

or a merchant, or possess a scanning device with knowledge that a person other than the authorized user, the 

issuer of the authorized user’s payment card, or a merchant intends to use the scanning device to obtain 

information encoded on a payment card without permission from the authorized user, the issuer of the 

authorized user’s payment card, or a merchant. A person who violates this provision commits an aggravated 

misdemeanor.  

CRIMINAL MISCHIEF IN THE THIRD DEGREE 

If a person intentionally damages, defaces, alters, or destroys property that has the ability to process a payment 

card as defined in section 715A.10, with no right to do such an act, that person commits criminal mischief in the 

third degree.  

Effective July 1, 2018 

HF2238—PECUNIARY DAMAGES BY INSURERS AS VICTIMS OF INSURANCE FRAUD 
Relates to insurers as victims for purposes of receipt of criminal restitution damages. Amends the definitions of 

pecuniary damages and victim in the criminal restitution chapter 910 to allow insurers to receive criminal 

restitution payments if the insurers are victims of insurance fraud due to fraudulent submissions or fraudulent 

sales practices. Insurers are currently excluded as victims for purposes of criminal restitution. 

Effective July 1, 2018  

https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/publications/LGE/87/Attachments/HF2199_GovLetter.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/DOCS/ACO/IC/LINC/Chapter.715A.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/524.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/527.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/DOCS/ACO/IC/LINC/Chapter.715A.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/publications/LGE/87/Attachments/HF2238_GovLetter.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/910.pdf
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HF2255—POSSESSION OF CONTRABAND IN/ON CBC GROUNDS 
Relates to the possession of contraband in or on the grounds of a community-based correctional facility, and 

provides penalties.  Under section 719.7, expands the facilities and institutions where a person may commit the 

criminal offense of possessing contraband to include a community-based correctional facility. “Contraband” is 

defined to include controlled substances, intoxicating beverages, weapons, explosives, knives or other cutting 

devices, items that may be fashioned to cause death or injury, and items that may be used to facilitate an 

escape. A person commits a class “C” felony if the contraband is a weapon, a class “D” felony if the contraband is 

a controlled substance or intoxicating beverage, and an aggravated misdemeanor if the contraband is an item 

that may be used to facilitate an escape. A person also commits an aggravated misdemeanor for failing to report 

a known violation or attempted violation involving contraband to an official or officer at a community-based 

correctional facility. 

The bill, in part, is a response to the Iowa supreme court’s decision in State v. Halverson, 857 N.W.2d 632 (Iowa 

2015), which held that a person illegally possessing a controlled substance at a community-based correctional 

facility does not commit the criminal offense of possessing contraband because a community-based correctional 

facility is not an institution under the control of the department of corrections. 

Effective July 1, 2018 

HF2304—MOTOR VEHICLES APPROACHING CERTAIN STATIONARY MOTOR 

VEHICLES 
Expands the list of protected stationary vehicles under section 321.323A (of a certain type and which is 

displaying certain flashing lights) to include stationary construction vehicles, and permits construction vehicles 

to display amber flashing lights. Amends the scheduled fine provision to separate violations relating to 

stationary authorized emergency vehicles from violations relating to stationary nonemergency vehicles: 

For emergency vehicle violations relating to authorized emergency vehicles, fire apparatus and equipment, and 

police bicycles under the following sections, the scheduled fine is as follows: 

(1)  Authorized emergency vehicles and police bicycles (Section 321.231)  $100 

(2)  Approaching certain stationary vehicles (Section 321.323A, subsection 1) $100 

(3)  Operation on approach of emergency vehicles (Section 321.324)   $100 

(4)  Following fire apparatus (Section 321.367)     $100 

(5)  Crossing a fire hose (Section 321.368)     $100 

 

For violations relating to the approach of certain stationary nonemergency vehicles (including stationary 

construction vehicles) under section 321.323A, subsections 2 and 2A, the scheduled fine is one hundred dollars. 

Effective July 1, 2018 

  

https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/publications/LGE/87/Attachments/HF2255_GovLetter.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/2018/719.7.pdf
https://www.iowacourts.gov/static/media/documents/130446_B2FD1B2956FCD.pdf
https://www.iowacourts.gov/static/media/documents/130446_B2FD1B2956FCD.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/publications/LGE/87/Attachments/HF2304_GovLetter.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/publications/LGE/87/Attachments/HF2304_GovLetter.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/321.323A.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/321.231.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/321.323A.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/321.324.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/321.367.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/321.368.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/321.323A.pdf
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HF2338—TRL FOR OWI OFFENDERS  
Strikes the ineligibility periods for the issuance of a temporary restricted license (TRL) under chapter 321J 

(operating a motor vehicle while intoxicated). Requires the installation of an approved ignition interlock device 

on all motor vehicles owned or operated by a holder of a TRL issued under chapter 321J. Strikes provisions 

limiting the use of a TRL issued under chapter 321J to operating a motor vehicle for purposes of a person’s 

employment, health care, education, substance abuse treatment, court-ordered community service 

responsibilities, appointments with the person’s parole or probation officer, or participation in a sobriety and 

drug monitoring program. In addition, the bill strikes a provision prohibiting the use of a TRL issued under Code 

chapter 321J to operate a motor vehicle for pleasure. Provides that the holder of a TRL issued under Code 

chapter 321J may operate motor vehicles in any manner allowed for a person issued a valid class C driver’s 

license, unless otherwise prohibited by chapter 321J. Does not amend provisions prohibiting the holder of a TRL 

issued under chapter 321J from operating a commercial motor vehicle or school bus. 

The new TRL eligibility does not apply to the following license revocations:  persons under the age of twenty-one 

operating a motor vehicle while having an alcohol concentration of .02 or more (section 321J.2A), persons 

whose license has been revoked for vehicular homicide under section 321J.4, subsection 6, for the period during 

which the person is ineligible for temporary restricted license.  

Effective July 1, 2018 

Applies to all persons who apply for or are issued a TRL under Code chapter 321J on or after July 1, 2018 

Requires the department of transportation to allow a person issued a TRL prior to July 1, 2018, that is 

subject to the driving restrictions provided in Code section 321J.20, to apply for and be issued a TRL 

subject to the restrictions provided in the bill. 

HF2377—REGULATION OF CERTAIN SUBSTANCES INCLUDING THE REGULATION 

AND PRACTICE OF PHARMACY 
Relates to the regulation of the practice of pharmacy. 

DIVISION V—REGISTRATION 

This division relates to registration with the board of pharmacy by persons working with controlled substances. 

Under chapter 124, provides that a person who manufactures, distributes, or dispenses any controlled 

substance in this state or who proposes to engage in such activities in this state (registrant), obtain and maintain 

a registration issued by the board of pharmacy. Requires a separate registration for each principal place of 

business of a registrant, when the registrant is conducting research with controlled substances.    

Permits the board of pharmacy to take disciplinary action against a registrant who manufactures, distributes, or 

dispenses any controlled substance within this state, without restricting, suspending, or revoking the 

registration. Provides that the board of pharmacy may discipline a registrant when the registrant has furnished 

false or fraudulent material information in any application under any Code chapter which applies to the 

registrant. Provides that the board of pharmacy may limit the restriction of a registrant’s registration or 

discipline of a registrant to a particular controlled substance when grounds exist for such restriction or 

discipline. If the board of pharmacy restricts a registrant’s registration or disciplines a registrant, all controlled 

substances owned or possessed by the registrant at the time of the restriction or at the time of the effective 

date of the order may be place under seal. 

https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/publications/LGE/87/Attachments/HF2338_GovLetter.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321J.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321J.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321J.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321J.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321J.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321J.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321J.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/2018/321J.2A.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/2018/321J.4.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321J.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/publications/LGE/87/Attachments/HF2377_GovLetter.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/publications/LGE/87/Attachments/HF2377_GovLetter.pdf
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Requires the board of pharmacy to notify the federal bureau of narcotics and dangerous drugs, United States 

department of justice, or its successor agency, of all orders restricting a registrant’s registration or disciplining a 

registrant. Under current law, the board shall notify the federal agency when suspending or revoking the 

registration of a registrant including all forfeitures of controlled substances. If the board of pharmacy decides to 

suspend, restrict, or revoke a registrant’s registration or discipline a registrant, the bill requires the board to 

serve upon the registrant a notice in accordance with Code section 17A.12.  

The bill permits the board of pharmacy to suspend a registrant’s registration while simultaneously pursuing an 

emergency adjudicative proceeding in accordance with Code section 17A.18A, if the board finds there is an 

immediate danger to the public health, safety, or welfare. 

DIVISION VII—GOOD SAMARITAN IMMUNITY 

This division relates to certain protections against arrest and prosecution for people seeking medical assistance 

for a drug-related overdose. Provides that a person seeking treatment for a drug-related overdose or a person 

seeking medical treatment for a person experiencing a drug-related overdose cannot be arrested or prosecuted 

for possession of a controlled substance, delivery of a controlled substance without profit, violations of Code 

section 124.407, or violations of Code section 124.414 on the basis of information collected or derived from a 

person’s actions in seeking medical assistance if the person has not previously received such immunity. Such 

information shall also be inadmissible at trial for any of the enumerated offenses and shall not be used to revoke 

a person’s pretrial release, probation, supervised release, or parole. These protections are only extended to a 

person who acted in good faith seeking medical attention for an overdose patient in need of medical assistance 

for an immediate health or safety concern, who was the first person to seek medical assistance, who provides 

the person’s name and contact information to medical or law enforcement personnel, who waits on the scene 

until assistance arrives or is provided, and who cooperates with law enforcement and medical personnel. A 

person’s attempts to provide medical assistance to a person experiencing a drug-related overdose may be 

considered by the court as a mitigating factor in a criminal prosecution. 

Effective July 1, 20182 

HF2392—ELECTRONIC AND MECHANICAL EAVESDROPPING AND THE 

INTERCEPTION OF COMMUNICATIONS 
Relates to illegal electronic and mechanical eavesdropping, and the interception of communications under 

chapter 727. Currently, it is a serious misdemeanor for a person to tap into or connect a listening or recording 

device to any telephone or other communication wire, or through electronic or mechanical means to listen to, 

record, or otherwise intercept a conversation or communication of any kind.  Under current law, there are two 

exceptions to the criminal offense of illegal electronic and mechanical eavesdropping; creates a third exception 

to illegal electronic and mechanical eavesdropping by permitting the use of a monitoring device. 

Defines “monitoring device” to mean a digital video or audio streaming or recording device that records, listens 

to, or otherwise intercepts video or audio communications placed outside of a person’s dwelling or other 

structure that is not in a shared hallway and is on real property owned or leased by the person. 

                                                           
2 Division VI related to precursor substances was effective upon enactment, May 14, 2018. 

https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/publications/LGE/87/Attachments/HF2392_GovLetter.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/publications/LGE/87/Attachments/HF2392_GovLetter.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/2017/727.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/2017/727.pdf
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Amends section 808B.2 relating to unlawful acts when intercepting a wire, oral, or electronic communication. A 

person who commits such an unlawful act commits a class “D” felony. 

It is not an unlawful act under the bill if a person who is an owner or lessee of real property intercepts an oral 

communication and all of the following apply:  the interception of the oral communication is made by a 

surveillance system placed in or on the real property owned or leased by the person; the surveillance system is 

installed with the knowledge and consent of all lawful owners or lessees of the real property; and the 

surveillance system is used for the purpose of detecting or preventing criminal activity in or on the real property 

owned or leased by the person or in an area accessible to the general public in the immediate vicinity of the real 

property owned or leased by the person. 

Effective July 1, 2018 

SF359—CERTAIN ACTIONS RELATING TO A FETUS 
Creates new section 146D.1, related to fetal body parts. Prohibits knowingly acquiring, providing, receiving, 

otherwise transferring, or using a fetal body part in this state unless the purpose is for diagnostic or remedial 

tests, procedures, or observations which have the sole purpose of determining the life or health of the fetus in 

order to provide that information to the pregnant woman, final disposition of a fetal body part, a pathological 

study of body tissue, including genetic testing, for diagnostic or forensic purposes, or if the fetal body part 

results from a spontaneous termination of pregnancy or stillbirth and is willingly donated for the purpose of 

medical research.  Violations are a class “C” felony. 

Effective July 1, 2018 

SF2135—FAILURE TO WEAR A MV SAFETY BELT 
Under current law, evidence of failure to wear a motor vehicle safety belt or safety harness as required by 

section 321.445(2) may be used to mitigate damages in a civil case upon a showing of substantial evidence that 

the failure to wear a safety belt or safety harness contributed to the injuries claimed. Increases the maximum 

amount which damages may be reduced for failure to wear a motor vehicle safety belt or safety harness to 25 

percent of the damages awarded. 

Effective July 1, 2018 

SF2165—PAYMENTS UNDER CRIME VICTIM COMPENSATION PROGRAM 
Concerns compensation payable under the victim compensation program.  Code section 915.80 is amended to 

add a definition for a survivor of a deceased victim and provides that a survivor includes a spouse, former 

spouse, child, foster child, parent, legal guardian, foster parent, stepparent, sibling, foster sibling of, or person 

cohabiting with, or related by blood or affinity to, a deceased victim. The definition generally applies throughout 

the Code chapter to homicide victims. 

Amends section 915.86, concerning computation of compensation under the victim compensation program.  

Amends provisions concerning reimbursement of loss of income from work to allow reimbursement for 

attending or planning the funeral, memorial, or burial services of the deceased victim, and provides that the 

compensation limit of $1,000 applies per person. Amends provisions concerning reimbursement for cleaning the 

scene of the crime to strike the limitation that the cleaning be limited to a crime scene that is a residence, and 

provides that the compensation limit of $1,000 applies per crime scene.  Provisions concerning dependent care 

expenses are amended to allow compensation for attending funeral, burial, or memorial services. 

https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/2018/808B.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/publications/LGE/87/Attachments/SF359_GovLetter.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/publications/LGE/87/Attachments/SF2135_GovLetter.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/2018/321.445.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/publications/LGE/87/Attachments/SF2165_GovLetter.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/915.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/915.86.pdf
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Adds a new provision to provide additional compensation of up to a total of $5,000 for qualifying compensable 

expenses under the Code section if the expenses were not eligible for compensation at the time the initial 

application for benefits was made; the victim, secondary victim, or survivor of a deceased victim demonstrates 

that a denial of additional compensation would constitute an undue hardship; or additional compensable 

qualifying expenses are incurred following a new event. “New event” is defined to include additional criminal 

justice proceedings, a new appellate court decision relating to the event, a change of venue of a trial, a change 

in offender custody status, the death of the offender, or the exoneration of the offender. The new provision 

further provides that expenses related to loss of support or charges incurred by a victim service program for 

emergency relocation expenses or housing assistance are not eligible for additional compensation. 

Effective July 1, 2018 

SF2230—KIDNAPPING IN THE SECOND DEGREE 
Relates to kidnapping in the second degree. The criminal offense of kidnapping is defined in section 710.1. 

A person commits kidnapping in the second degree when the victim is under 18 years of age, except that it is not 

kidnapping in the second degree when the kidnapping is by a parent or legal guardian whose sole purpose of the 

kidnapping is to assume custody of the victim under 18 years of age. A person who commits kidnapping in the 

second degree commits a class “B” forcible felony. A person who commits a forcible felony is ineligible to receive 

a deferred judgment or sentence or suspended sentence under section 907.3. A person who commits 

kidnapping in the second degree must also register as a tier III sex offender under chapter 692A if a 

determination is made that the offense was sexually motivated. 

Effective July 1, 2018 

SF2231—SNOWMOBILES AND FIREARMS  
Make changes to chapter 321G to allow a person to operate or ride on a snowmobile or all-terrain vehicle with a 

loaded firearm, whether concealed or not, without a permit to carry weapons, if the person operates or rides on 

the snowmobile or all-terrain vehicle on land rented by the person, and the person’s conduct is otherwise 

lawful. Specifies that “rented by the person” includes a person who does not necessarily rent the land but who 

principally provides labor for the production of crops located on agricultural land or for the production of 

livestock principally located on agricultural land. The person must personally provide such labor on a regular, 

continuous, and substantial basis.  A person who violates section 321G.13 (snowmobiles) or 321I.14 (all-terrain 

vehicles) commits a simple misdemeanor punishable as a scheduled fine of $100 under section 805.8B. 

Amends section 724.4 relating to carrying weapons. A person no longer commits the criminal offense of carrying 

weapons in violation of section 724.4 if the person goes armed with a dangerous weapon on land rented by the 

person, and the person does not qualify for another exemption under section 724.4. 

Effective July 1, 2018 

  

https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/publications/LGE/87/Attachments/SF2230_GovLetter.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/710.1.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/907.3.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/DOCS/ACO/IC/LINC/Chapter.692A.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/publications/LGE/87/Attachments/SF2231_GovLetter.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321G.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321G.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/321I.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/805.8B.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/2018/724.4.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/2018/724.4.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/2018/724.4.pdf
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SF2241—COMMISSION OF A PAROLE VIOLATION OR A CRIMINAL OFFENSE WHILE 

ON PAROLE 
Relates to the commission of a parole violation or criminal offense while on parole. 

Under chapter 908 a parole officer having probable cause to believe that a person released on parole has 

violated the parole plan or the conditions of parole may arrest such person, or the parole officer may make a 

complaint before a magistrate in the judicial district in which the person is being supervised, and if probable 

cause exists, the magistrate may issue a warrant for the person’s arrest.  

Strikes references to “under the laws of any other state” and references to “foreign government” in both 

sections 908.10 and 908.10A, thus providing that if a person is convicted and sentenced to incarceration in any 

other state of the United States or a foreign country for an offense committed while on parole, and which if 

committed in this state would be an aggravated misdemeanor or felony, the person’s parole shall be revoked. 

Repeals section 908.7, which allows an alleged parole violator to waive the parole revocation hearing. 

Effective July 1, 2018 

SF2235—CRIMINAL ACTS COMMITTED AGAINST CRITICAL INFRASTRUCTURE 
Creates the crime of critical infrastructure sabotage under chapter 716 (damage and trespass to property). 

Defines critical infrastructure to include electrical critical infrastructure, gas, oil, petroleum, refined petroleum 

products, or chemical critical infrastructure, telecommunications or broadband critical infrastructure, 

wastewater critical infrastructure, and water supply critical infrastructure.  Defines critical infrastructure 

sabotage an unauthorized and overt act intended to cause and having the means to cause, and in substantial 

furtherance of causing, a substantial and widespread interruption or impairment of a fundamental service 

rendered by the critical infrastructure; critical infrastructure sabotage does not include any accidental 

interruption or impairment of service rendered in the performance of the person’s work duties.  

A person who commits critical infrastructure sabotage commits a class “B” felony, punishable by confinement 

for no more than 25 years, in addition to a fine of not less than $85,000 nor more than $100,000. 

Effective July 1, 2018 

SF2271—MOTOR CARRIERS 
Creates and modifies provisions relating to motor carriers under chapter 325A. 

Specifies that “motor carrier” includes motor carriers of passengers for the purposes of chapter 325A.  A motor 

carrier of passengers is any person transporting passengers on any highway of this state for hire, other than a 

transportation network company or a transportation network company driver. 

Provides that, in addition to the application requirements of section 325A.3(2), all applications for a taxicab 

service passenger certificate must include the applicant’s interstate motor carrier number or intrastate motor 

carrier number. If the applicant has both an interstate and intrastate motor carrier number, only the interstate 

motor carrier number must be included.  

https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/publications/LGE/87/Attachments/SF2241_GovLetter.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/publications/LGE/87/Attachments/SF2241_GovLetter.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/908.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/908.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/908.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/publications/LGE/87/Attachments/SF2235_GovLetter.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/716.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/publications/LGE/87/Attachments/SF2271_GovLetter.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/325A.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/325A.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/325A.pdf
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Under current law, a request for a hearing to contest a decision by the department of transportation (DOT) to 

deny a person’s application for a motor carrier permit or certificate, or suspend a person’s motor carrier permit 

or certificate, must be submitted in writing to the DOT’s director of the division of motor carrier services at its 

office in the capital city’s metropolitan area. Specifies that the request must be submitted in writing to the 

DOT’s office of vehicle and motor carrier services.  

Under current law, for purposes of chapter 325A, subchapter II, “charter carrier” does not include taxicabs with 

a seating capacity of not more than eight passengers. Amends current law to provide that “charter carrier” does 

not include taxicabs with a seating capacity of less than seven passengers. Prohibits a taxicab service from 

transporting passengers by motor vehicle for hire from any place in this state to another place in this state, 

irrespective of the route or highway traversed, without first having obtained a taxicab service passenger 

certificate from the DOT. However, provides that a taxicab service passenger certificate issued by the DOT does 

not authorize a taxicab service to transport passengers within the boundaries of a local authority that licenses or 

regulates such vehicles pursuant to section 321.236(7) unless the taxicab service is in compliance with all 

applicable regulations of the local authority. A “taxicab service” is a person engaged in the for-hire 

transportation of passengers in a taxicab having a seating capacity of less than seven passengers and not 

operating on a regular route or between specified points.  

Under current law, a regular-route motor carrier of passengers is prohibited from operating as a charter carrier 

in this state unless it possesses a charter passenger certificate, and a charter carrier is prohibited from operating 

as a regular-route passenger carrier in this state unless it possesses a regular-route passenger certificate.  Strikes 

these provisions and provides that a person shall not operate as a charter carrier, regular-route motor carrier of 

passengers, or taxicab service in this state unless the person possesses a certificate issued by the DOT applicable 

to the type of operation in which the person is engaged. 

By operation of law, a violation of the provisions of the bill is punishable by a scheduled fine of $250 and may 

result in the revocation or suspension of the person’s motor carrier permit or certificate (sections 325A.23 and 

325A.24). 

Effective July 1, 2018 

SF2321—GOING ARMED WITH PORTABLE DEVICES THAT DIRECT E-CURRENT 
Under section 724.4, excludes persons going armed with certain portable devices or weapons that direct an 

electric current from the criminal offense of carrying weapons under certain circumstances.  A person who is 18 

years of age or older does not commit the criminal offense of carrying weapons if the person goes armed with a 

dangerous weapon that directs an electric current, impulse, wave, or beam that produces a high-voltage pulse 

designed to immobilize a person, as long as such a dangerous weapon does not generate a projectile that directs 

an electric current, impulse, wave, or beam that produces a high-voltage pulse designed to immobilize a person, 

and such dangerous weapon is not used in the commission of a public offense.  A minor who goes armed with a 

dangerous weapon that directs an electric current, impulse, wave, or beam that produces a high-voltage pulse 

designed to immobilize a person, as long as such a dangerous weapon does not generate a projectile that directs 

an electric current, impulse, wave, or beam that produces a high-voltage pulse designed to immobilize a person 

commits a simple misdemeanor. 

Effective July 1, 2018 

https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/325A.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/2018/321.236.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/325A.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/325A.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/publications/LGE/87/Attachments/SF2321_GovLetter.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/724.4.pdf
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SF2323—DISCLOSURE REQUIREMENTS CONCERNING OUTSIDE PAYMENTS OR 

ACTIVITIES REQUIRING REGISTRATION AS A FOREIGN AGENT 
Makes changes under chapters 7E and 8A that provides that an applicant for state employment or a state 

employee who willfully fails to disclose that the person has filed a registration statement pursuant to the federal 

Foreign Agents Act is guilty of a serious misdemeanor.  

Effective July 1, 2018 

SF2347—IMPORTATION OF ALCOHOL 
Modifies the bootlegging provision (section 123.59)—a person is a bootlegger if they have any alcoholic 

beverage with the intent to sell or dispense the alcoholic beverage by gift or otherwise in violation of law—by 

striking the reference to gift or otherwise.  First offense of the provision is a simple misdemeanor; second or 

subsequent offenses are a serious misdemeanor.  

Effective April 10, 2018 

Juvenile 

HF2381—DISPOSITION OF A CHILD FOUND TO HAVE COMMITTED A DELINQUENT 

ACT 
Under section 232.52, the court may enter a dispositional order transferring custody (in lieu of guardianship) to 

the director of DHS for the purposes of placing a the child in the state training school or other facility. 

Effective July 1, 2018 

 HF 2443—JUVENILE RECORDS  

NON-DELINQUENCIES 

Non-delinquency juvenile case subtypes (e.g. CINA, TPR) were inadvertently combined with all delinquency 

cases (2016 Acts, ch 1002), which authorized a variety of entities to access non-delinquency juvenile records. 

Restores the previous section 232.147(3), separating the non-delinquency case subtypes from the delinquency 

case subtypes, restoring restricted access to non-delinquency juvenile records. 

 

EXCEPTIONS TO CONFIDENTIALITY OF JUVENILE RECORDS 

Updates the list of entities who can review delinquency records without a court order to make the non-forcible 

felony exceptions consistent with the forcible felony delinquencies.   

 

CLERK AS STEWARD OF SEALED DOCUMENTS 

Section 232.150 requires that on entry of a sealing order, agencies must send related juvenile records to the 

court issuing the order.  Since the implementation of EDMS, clerks no longer maintain hardcopy files; this 

subsection has caused issues when a clerk receives a significant file from previous records custodians upon 

sealing. Provides the State Court Administrator to the authority to prescribe a directive about the maintenance 

or destruction of these hardcopy files 

 

https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/publications/LGE/87/Attachments/SF2323_GovLetter.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/publications/LGE/87/Attachments/SF2323_GovLetter.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/7E.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/8A.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/publications/LGE/87/Attachments/SF2347_GovLetter.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/123.59.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/publications/LGE/87/Attachments/HF2381_GovLetter.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/publications/LGE/87/Attachments/HF2381_GovLetter.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/232.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/publications/LGE/87/Attachments/HF2443_GovLetter.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/publications/iactc/86.2/CH1002.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/232.147.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/232.150.pdf
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JUVENILE TRESPASSING 

2017 Acts ch. 140 made violations of trespassing (section 716.7) a scheduled violation under section 805.8C. 

Scheduled violations are excluded from juvenile court jurisdiction under section 232.8(1); however, trespassing 

(section 716.7) is not specifically listed in section 232.8(1). Clarifies that the juvenile court has jurisdiction over 

trespassing violations committed by juveniles. 

 

CHARGES FILED IN DISTRICT COURT 

Requires the court to file an order dismissing charges in the district court in those situations when a case is filed 

in district court, but the juvenile court holds exclusive jurisdiction. When the clerk receives the transfer order, 

the clerk must seal all records initiated in the district court. 

 

JUVENILE DIVERSION PROGRAMS 

2016 Acts, ch 1002 has limited the ability of some local law enforcement agencies to share information with 

juvenile diversion programs. Juvenile diversion programs are organized efforts to provide necessary services to 

rehabilitate a child, diverting them from the informal adjustment process/the juvenile court system.  Restores 

ability to share information for the purposes of juvenile diversion programs.  

 

DPS CRIMINAL HISTORY AND INTELLIGENCE DATA 

Clarification to chapter 692 to provide parameters for the release of juvenile criminal history data by the 

Department of Public Safety. 

Effective July 1, 2018 

Mental Health 

HF2456—COMPLEX MENTAL HEALTH NEEDS  
Makes changes to address gaps in services to Iowans with complex mental health, disability, and substance use 

needs. This legislation enacts the recommendations of the Complex Needs Work Group.   

MENTAL HEALTH (CHAPTER 229) & SUBSTANCE USE (CHAPTER 125) COMMITMENTS 

Immediately terminates a commitment upon finding the person no longer meets criteria (no longer permissive, 

changes may to shall).  Allows video conference commitment hearings.  Allows immediate release from a 

hospital after notifying the court that a person no longer meets criteria (allowing notification of court, not 

requiring permission).  Changes the definition of Serious Mental Illness (SMI) to include those with a history of 

non-compliance in taking medications or treatment plans, resulting in hospitalizations.  Adds oral medication to 

the list of options for treatment during hospitalizations (currently only allows injectables).   

Under section 229.22, if the magistrate orders a person be detained and files a written order with the clerk, in 

addition to the clerk providing a written copy of the order or any separate order to the chief medical officer of 

the facility which the person was originally taken, law enforcement, and ambulatory services, the clerk must 

notify the transportation provider under contract with the MHDS region.  Requires all contracted transportation 

providers use secure vehicles and have staff with mental health training.   

 

https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/publications/iactc/87.1/CH0140.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/716.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/805.8C.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/232.8.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/716.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/232.8.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/publications/iactc/86.2/CH1002.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/2016/692.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/publications/LGE/87/Attachments/HF2456_GovLetter.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/229.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/125.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/229.22.pdf
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SUBACUTE 

Eliminates the 75-bed subacute bed cap.   

MH DISCLOSURE TO LAW ENFORCEMENT 

Allows disclosure of mental health information to an expanded list of law enforcement officers (DNR officers, 

county attorneys, probation/parole officers, jailers), but still only if consistent with professional ethics, and the 

person is an imminent threat to self or others, and has ability to carry out that threat.  Includes liability 

protections for those that disclose (or do not disclose consistent with law).   

MH/DS REGIONAL CORE SERVICES 

Moves all current “additional crisis services” to a core, and calls them “intensive mental health services” (mobile 

response, 23-hour crisis observation and holding, crisis residential services, subacute and the newly termed 

"crisis stabilization community-based services” are now considered “core”). Requires DHS to ensure all regional 

core services are covered by Medicaid for those eligible (subject to federal match) and requires MH/DS regions 

to pay for those not eligible for Medicaid (if funds available).   

NEW CORE SERVICES ADDED 

Adds three new categories of services to the “intensive mental health services” list that regions must provide, 

and must be reimbursable by Medicaid and MH/DS regions. Regions are allowed to bill other regions and 

Medicaid for services provided in these three new service areas (ACT, Access Centers, IRSH). Requires MHDS 

Commission to make rules for core service definitions, service provider standards, service access standards, and 

service implementation dates (rules to be noticed by 8/15/18).  Requires DHS to accept multi-regional 

arrangements for these new services.  Requires the development of at least 22 ACT (Assertive Community 

Treatment) teams statewide.  ACT teams are to comply with federal uniform guidelines, and prohibits MCOs 

from establishing stricter criteria.  Requires at least six Access Centers be developed to serve individuals SMI, 

SUD who are otherwise medically stable, do not need inpatient psychiatric care, but do not have other safe 

alternatives.  Providers would have to accept on a no eject/reject policy (as long as they qualify for that level of 

care); accept court-orders; be dually licensed as subacute & crisis stabilization residential; be a licensed SUD 

provider or have cooperative agreement with SUD provider; provide/arrange for physical health services; and 

provide navigation and warm handoffs and links to housing, employment, and shelter services.  Requires 

development of up to 120 Intensive Rehabilitative Service Homes (IRSH) that are licensed as HCBS 

habilitation/ID provider, adequate staffing and appropriate training (specifically mention ABA), have a no 

eject/reject policy and accept court-orders, be a licensed SUD provider or have cooperative agreement with SUD 

provider, coordinate clinical MH & physical health, be located in neighborhood settings, and be no larger than 

16 beds.  Requires DHS provide guidance on objective utilization review criteria. 

STUDIES 

Directs DHS (with IDPH, MHIs, hospitals, NAMI, Iowa Behavioral Health Association, and “other affected 

stakeholders”—e.g. the judicial branch—to review mental health and substance use disorder (SUD) commitment 

procedures and make recommendations to increase efficiencies and appropriately utilize services (report due 

12/31/18). Requires DHS & IDPH and other interested stakeholders to review the role of tertiary psychiatric 

hospitals in the array of services (report due 11/30/18). Report is to include review of viability of using MHIs as 

tertiary care psychiatric hospitals, potential sustainable funding, and admissions criteria.  Requests Legislative 



22 | P a g e  
 

Council to convene a study committee to analyze the viability of MH/DS regional funding, including levies, 

budgets, per capita expenditure targets, and fund balances (report with recommendations by 1/15/19). 

OTHER 

Directs DHS to implement rules that require both adult and child co-occurring subacute beds to be included in 

the bed tracking system, and directs DHS to review reimbursement rates for ACT (recommendations due by 

12/15/18).  Requires DHS and MHDS Commission to set rules for civil commitment prescreening assessments to 

be done in MH/DS region. Rules will address prescreening by MH professional within 4 hours of emergency 

detention; coordination of services (inpatient, outpatient, subacute, detox, and community-based); ongoing 

consultations by MH professional while person is in ER; and filing of appropriation documentation/reports.  

Removes the MH/DS levy reduction (this was restored in the Standings Bill HF 2502).  Allows recalculation of per 

capita expenditure target if a county joins a region (equal to product of new regional per capita expenditure 

target county population).  

Effective July 1, 2018 

Probate 

HF2125—VERY SMALL ESTATES 
Amends probate section 633.356 to allow for the distribution of decedent’s property by affidavit in estates as 

large as $50,000. Changes the affidavit requirement to require the affiant to attest the property is valued at 

$50,000 or less.  

Adds components to the affidavit that the successor must furnish to the holder of the decedent’s property in 

order to collect money, receive tangible personal property, or have evidences of intangible personal property 

transferred under section 633.356.  The affidavit must indicate that there is no debt owed to the department of 

human services for reimbursement of Medicaid benefits; or if there is, it will be paid to the extent of funds 

received pursuant to the affidavit. The affidavit must also indicate that there are no inheritance or other taxes 

owed to the department of revenue, or if there are, they will be paid to the extent of funds received pursuant to 

the affidavit. Finally, the affidavit must indicate that creditors, if any, will be paid to the extent of funds received 

pursuant to the affidavit. 

Effective July 1, 2018 

Applies to estates of decedents dying on or after July 1, 2018 

 

HF 2318—REDEMPTIONS BY PERSONS OF UNSOUND MINDS OR THEIR LEGAL 

REPRESENTATIVES 
Relates to the mechanism by which minors or persons of unsound mind, or their legal representatives, who own 

real estate which was sold at a tax sale may redeem such parcels under chapter 445 and chapter 447.  Defines 

“legal representative” as a parent, guardian, or conservator of a person with a legal disability, a person 

appointed by a court to act on behalf of a person with a legal disability, or a person acting on behalf of a person 

with a legal disability pursuant to a power of attorney; defines “person with a legal disability” as a minor or a 

person of unsound mind. 

https://www.legis.iowa.gov/legislation/BillBook?ga=87&ba=HF2125
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/633.356.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/633.356.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/publications/LGE/87/Attachments/HF2318_GovLetter.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/publications/LGE/87/Attachments/HF2318_GovLetter.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/445.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/447.pdf
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Specifies the procedure by which a person with a legal disability can redeem a parcel sold at a tax sale after the 

delivery of the treasurer’s deed. Before delivery of the treasurer’s deed, the bill provides that the person with a 

legal disability or the person’s legal representative may redeem under sections 447.1 and 447.3, which is the 

same as current law. After delivery of the treasurer’s deed, the person with a legal disability or the person’s legal 

representative must bring an equitable action for redemption in the district court of the county where the 

parcel is located and prove to the court that prior to the delivery of the treasurer’s deed, the person with a legal 

disability or the person’s legal representative was entitled to redeem by virtue of such disability. All persons 

claiming an interest in the parcel from the tax sale must be named as defendants.  

If the court determines that the person with a legal disability or the person’s legal representative is entitled to 

redeem, the court will determine the rights, claims, and interests of all of the parties, and will establish the 

amount necessary to effect redemption. The redemption amount shall include the amount for redemption 

computed in accordance with section 447.1 or 447.3, whichever is applicable, including interest computed up to 

and including the date of payment of the total redemption amount is owed to the clerk of court and the amount 

of all costs added to the redemption amount in accordance with section 447.13.  The person with a legal 

disability or the person’s legal representative has 30 days after the date of the order to pay the redemption 

amount to the clerk. Upon timely receipt of payment, the court shall declare the treasurer’s deed to be invalid. 

In its judgment, the court shall direct the clerk of court to deliver the entire amount of the redemption payment 

to the person claiming title under the treasurer’s deed.  If the person maintaining the action fails to timely 

deliver payment of the total redemption amount to the clerk, the court shall enter judgment holding that all 

rights of redemption of the person with a legal disability who brought the action, or on whose behalf the action 

was brought, are terminated and that the validity of the tax title or purported tax title is conclusively established 

as a matter of law against the claims of such person with a legal disability. 

The action may be brought until one year after the disability is removed unless otherwise barred. The law bars 

bringing the action if the person with a legal disability remained in possession of the parcel, the person claiming 

under the tax title properly commenced an action to remove the person with a legal disability, and the person 

with a legal disability or the person’s legal representative fails to timely file a counterclaim or separate action 

asserting the right of redemption. The law also bars the action if the person with a legal disability is not in 

possession of the parcel and the action is barred by section 448.16, which bars actions where the person 

claiming under tax title records an affidavit with the county recorder of the county where the parcel is located 

and a person with redemption rights fails to file a claim within 120 days after the filing of the affidavit. Finally, 

the law bars the action if it is not filed within three years of the recording of the treasurer’s deed. 

Effective July 1, 2018  

https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/447.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/447.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/447.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/448.16.pdf
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HF2402—AGENT’S TERMINATION OR SUSPENSION OF AUTHORITY FOR A POWER OF 

ATTORNEY 
Relates to the termination or suspension of an agent’s authority to act for a principal under a power of attorney. 

Code section 633B.110 currently provides that an agent’s authority for a power of attorney terminates upon the 

occurrence of several circumstances including but not limited to when the principal revokes the authority; the 

agent dies, becomes incapacitated, or resigns; or an action is filed for the dissolution or annulment of the 

agent’s marriage to the principal or for their legal separation, unless the power of attorney otherwise provides. 

Amends the Code section to include an additional circumstance under which an agent’s authority terminates, 

namely, if the agent is named as the abuser in a founded dependent adult abuse report or is convicted of 

dependent adult abuse. 

Amends section 633B.116, relating to judicial relief of persons who may petition a court to construe a power of 

attorney or to review an agent’s conduct, to include a person who becomes aware of pending criminal charges 

of dependent adult abuse against a principal.  After receiving a petition to review an agent’s conduct as a result 

of pending criminal charges of dependent adult abuse, the court may suspend the agent’s power of attorney 

and may appoint a guardian ad litem to represent the principal; requires the guardian ad litem to be a practicing 

attorney. 

Effective July 1, 2018 

HF2404—RESTITUTION PAID TO ESTATE OR HEIRS AT LAW OF A CRIME VICTIM 
Relates to restitution paid to the estate or heirs at law of a crime victim. Provides that restitution awarded under 

section 910.3B to the victim’s estate or heirs at law shall not be reduced by any third-party payment, including 

any insurance payment, unless the offender is a named or covered insured. 

Effective July 1, 2018 

HF2449—SUBSTITUTE DECISION MAKER 
Relates to the Substitute Decision Maker Act (chapter 231E) by changing references relative to the state and 

local offices of substitute decision maker and substitute decision-making services, and to instead refer to these 

offices and services in terms of the state and local offices of public guardian and public guardianship services. 

Eliminates as services provided by the state and local offices of public guardian, services provided by an attorney 

in fact under a durable power of attorney for health care pursuant to chapter 144B, an agent under a power of 

attorney executed pursuant to chapter 633B, and a personal representative (an executor or administrator) 

under chapter 633 relating to the opening and administering of an estate. The remaining services provided by a 

public guardian are conservator, guardian, and representative payee services. 

Requires that local offices of public guardian be established by the state office of public guardian, contingent 

upon an appropriation to the department on aging of necessary funds as determined by the director of the 

department on aging. 

Effective July 1, 2018 

https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/publications/LGE/87/Attachments/HF2402_GovLetter.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/publications/LGE/87/Attachments/HF2402_GovLetter.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/633B.110.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/633B.116.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/publications/LGE/87/Attachments/HF2404_GovLetter.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/910.3B.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/publications/LGE/87/Attachments/HF2449_GovLetter.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/231E.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/144B.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/633B.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/633.pdf
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SF2098—PROBATE EDMS 
Amends chapter 633 to conform probate procedures to the standards of the electronic data management 

system.  The bill also amends the probate powers of the clerk.  The following duties of the clerk under section 

633.22 have been eliminated: 

 The duty to appoint personal representatives, guardians and conservators for minors, fix and determine 

the amount of the bond, or waive the same when permitted by law or by will, and the approval of any 

and all bonds given by fiduciaries in the discharge of their duties.  

 The duty to admit wills of decedents to probate, when not contested, and to make necessary orders in 

relation thereto, including orders to issue commissions to take depositions. 

 The duty to make all necessary orders in relation to the personal effects of a deceased person, where no 

objection is filed, & perform all other acts within the clerk’s jurisdiction, as provided in the probate code.  

 The duty to approve, when notice has been waived by all persons interested, of petitions and reports, or 

joint petitions and reports, in respect to the sale, mortgage, pledge, lease, or exchange of property 

pursuant to section 633.386 and section 633.400.  

Under section 633.22, the clerk retains the power to examine and approve all intermediate and interlocutory 

accounts and reports of fiduciaries; such power is exercisable under chapter 633 and that the clerk may convert 

and close small estates under chapter 635. The clerk continues to have the ability to enter routine scheduling 

orders in probate matters as established by the chief judge of the judicial district. 

Amends section 633.27 to provide that the clerk no longer keeps the probate docket as a book, but rather as an 

electronic record. The probate docket must, among other things, name all heirs in intestate estates and the 

surviving spouse of each deceased intestate, and show whether each person is an adult or a minor, and each 

person’s residence. The probate docket will no longer be required to indicate the volume and page of a real 

estate record in light of the nature of electronic records.  

Clarifies under section 633.306 that the probate docket is no longer a book, but rather an electronic record. 

Effective July 1, 2018 

Applies to actions of the clerk of the probate court completed on or after July 1, 2018 

 

Under section 633.42, a request for notice must contain the requester’s address, and if available, the requester’s 

email and telephone number.  If the requester is represented, they must also provide the requester’s attorney’s 

address, email and telephone number.  Requires under section 633.82 that the designation of an attorney 

includes the attorney’s electronic mail address.  Amends the form and verification requirements of claims in 

section 633.418. It eliminates the requirement to file forms in duplicate and the instruction to clerks on what to 

do with the duplicate claim form.  It adds the requirement that in addition to the claimant’s name and address, 

the claimant provide a telephone number and electronic mail address, if available.  

Repeals section 633.72, which dictates the manner of service for original notices to nonresident fiduciaries. 

Effective July 1, 2018 

Applies to probate filings made on or after July 1, 20183 

                                                           
3 Applicability provision amended by section 10 of the Standings Appropriation (SF2417).  

https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/publications/LGE/87/Attachments/SF2098_GovLetter.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/633.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/633.22.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/633.22.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/633.386.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/633.400.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/633.22.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/633.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/635.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/633.27.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/633.306.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/633.42.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/633.82.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/633.418.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/633.72.pdf
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SF2099—SMALL ESTATES 
Raises the maximum value of a small estate under section 635.1 to $200,000. 

Effective July 1, 2020 

Applies to estates of decedents dying on or after July 1, 2020 

 

Provides a new definition of “Probate Assets”—“[A] decedent’s property subject to administration by a personal 

representative.”   

Effective July 1, 2018 

Applies to estates of decedents dying on or after July 1, 2018, and other estates opened previously and for which 

administration has not been completed as of July 1, 2018 

 

 

CONVERSION 

Requires that the personal representative separately specify in the report and inventory which assets are 

probate assets subject to the jurisdiction of the state, their gross value, and sum of all the assets.  If the amount 

does not exceed the amount permitted under section 635.1 ($100,000 until 6/30/2020; $200,000 effective 

7/1/2020) then the estates is administered as a small estate.  If the personal representative files a report to 

convert the estate administration to or from a small estate based on the gross value of probate assets subject to 

the jurisdiction of the state, the clerk must make the conversion without a court order.  Other interested parties 

may apply to convert proceedings to or from a small estate, which the court may grant upon good cause shown. 

Effective July 1, 2018  

Applies to estates of decedents dying on or after July 1, 2018 

CLOSING 

At the closing of an estate, the personal representative must file with the court a closing statement and proof of 

service to all interested parties within a reasonable time after the expiration of all times following required 

notices in chapter 633.  The closing statement must include all of the following:  certify that the gross value of 

the estate does not exceed the amount permitted under section 635.1; that the estate has been fully 

administered and will be distributed to persons entitled to if no objection is filed; an accounting a proposed 

distribution explaining how and to whom the assets will be distributed; notice to all interested parties that they 

have 30 days from the date of service to file an objection with the court; a statement that all statutory 

requirements pertaining to taxes have been complied with; a statement that all statutory requirements 

pertaining to claims have been complied with (and whether a lien continues to exist on any property as 

security); the amount of fees to be paid to the personal representative and personal representative’s attorney.  

If no actions or proceeding are pending in the court 30 days after service of the closing statement, the clerk 

must close the estate without order of the court and the personal representative shall be discharged upon the 

filing of an affidavit of mailing or other proof of service of the statement and filing proof of the asset distribution 

(including receipts).  

Effective July 1, 2018 

Applies to estates of decedents dying on or after July 1, 2018, and other estates opened previously and for which 

administration has not been completed as of July 1, 2018 

https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/publications/LGE/87/Attachments/SF2099_GovLetter.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/635.1.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/635.1.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/633.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/635.1.pdf
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Real Estate/Property 

HF2233—AMENDING A MECHANICS LIEN 
Relates to mechanics’ liens and public construction liens, and the early release of retained funds. 

MECHANIC’S LIENS 

Under section 572.26, a lien statement may only be amended by leave of court in furtherance of justice or to 

decrease the amount demanded. An amendment to decrease the amount demanded must be accomplished 

through the mechanics’ notice and lien registry; amending a lien statement to decrease the amount demanded 

does not affect the priority of the lien statement. A lien statement shall not be amended to increase the amount 

demanded. 

PUBLIC CONSTRUCTION LIENS 

Current section 573.15 provides an exception to the requirement that a public corporation retain a portion of 

funds due a contractor on a public improvement project in a fund for the payment of claims for materials 

furnished and labor performed. The exception provides that a public corporation need only retain funds due a 

supplier of material to a general contractor if the supplier provides the general contractor with one of two 

permitted types of notice after the materials are supplied. Provides that in addition to claims for materials, the 

exception shall apply to claims for labor, service, or transportation. Amends the notice requirement to provide 

that a supplier of labor, materials, service, or transportation to a general contractor must give only one type of 

notice, along with a certified statement that such notice was given. 

NOTICE OF CONTRACTOS REQUEST FOR EARLY RELEASE OF RETAINED FUNDS  

Repeals section 26.13 (public construction bidding—early release of retained funds) and creates new section 

573.28 with the same language except for corrected internal references. 

Effective July 1, 2018 

HF2234—FORECLOSURE 
Shortens the periods of time associated with redemption of real property from foreclosure in chapter 628.  

A mortgagor and mortgagee can agree to reduce the period of redemption from foreclosure as described in the 

mortgage instrument to a period of three months (currently six months). The debtor’s right of redemption 

would be exclusive the first two months (as opposed to three months. The time for redemption by creditors 

would be shortened to two months (from four months). 

Also alters chapter 654. Changes the notice requirement and rule for foreclosure without redemption by 

changing the length of time a sale can be delayed when a defendant-mortgagor makes a written demand to a 

plaintiff-mortgagee to delay sale. Delays the sale by six months from entry of judgment (as opposed to the 

current 12 months). If a plaintiff-mortgagee’s petition includes a waiver of deficiency judgment, a defendant-

mortgagor’s written demand will only result in a three-month (rather than a six-month) delay of sale following 

entry of judgment. 

 

https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/publications/LGE/87/Attachments/HF2233_GovLetter.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/572.26.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/573.15.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/26.13.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/publications/LGE/87/Attachments/HF2234_GovLetter.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/628.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/654.pdf
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Notwithstanding section 628.3 when a foreclosure of a mortgage on real property results from enforcement of a 

due-on-sale clause, amends section 535.8(4)(e)(1) to shorten the period that a mortgagor may redeem the real 

property from any time within three years to anytime within 18 months from the day of sale under the levy. Also 

shortens the period during which the mortgagor’s right of redemption is exclusive from the first 30 months to 

the first 15 months and the period during which creditors may redeem under sections 628.5, 628.15, and 628.16 

from 33 months to 16 months. 

Effective July 1, 2018 

SF2139—POWERS OF AN AGENT UNDER POA WITH RESPECT TO REAL PROPERTY 
Provides that, unless a power of attorney otherwise provides and subject to certain restrictions contained in 

section 633B.201, an agent that has been granted general authority with respect to real property is authorized 

to relinquish any and all of the principal’s rights of dower, homestead, and elective share.  

Effective March 28, 2018 

SF2175—PARTITION OF PROPERTY IN KIND  
Relates to partition of property in kind and partition of property by sale and creates new Code chapter 651; 

includes partition provisions currently in the rules of civil procedure. 

Defines terms not previously defined for partition including “ascendant”, “collateral”, “cotenant”, “descendant”, 

“heirs property”, “owelty”, and “relative.”  Contains general provisions applicable to all property partitions. The 

current procedures related to an action for partition, partition pending probate or administration of an estate, a 

petition for partition and the parties to such, the answer to a partition petition, and the prohibition of a 

counterclaim or joinder of claims to a partition petition are not changed by the law.  

Requires that personal property subject to a lien be partitioned by sale. Partition of real and personal property 

owned by the same person may be partitioned in the same partition action. Property may be partitioned by 

both sale and in kind in the same partition action. Property that has been partitioned in kind, or the proceeds 

from a partition by sale, are subject to an order of the court until disposition of the rights in the property are 

fully vested. The court may order the filing of an abstract, adjudicate the validity and priority of liens on a 

property, order a referee to take possession of a property, or issue an order to preserve a property subject to 

partition. 

Requires that the court file an initial decree establishing the interest and shares of all owners of a property 

subject to partition. The court shall appoint one referee unless the parties to the partition agree that more than 

one referee needs to be appointed. This changes the current requirement that the court appoint three referees 

for a partition in kind and one or more referees for a partition by sale. The court shall order an appraisal 

conducted by three disinterested persons with knowledge of property valuations, or by a different method of 

valuation as agreed to by the owners of the property. Currently, the court is not required to order an appraisal 

for a partition in kind, and for a partition by sale the appraisal is to be conducted by three disinterested 

freeholders. Requires the court to direct the referee to file a report setting forth the referee’s recommendations 

for completing the partition. A referee’s report is not currently required to be filed with the court.  

For a partition in kind, allows the referee to include owelty as part of the referee’s recommendation. Owelty is 

defined as an equitable remedy used in partition actions to equalize the lower value of property received by a 

https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/628.3.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/535.8.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/628.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/publications/LGE/87/Attachments/SF2139_GovLetter.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/633B.201.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/publications/LGE/87/Attachments/SF2175_GovLetter.pdf
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party through the payment of moneys from a recipient of a higher value property. Owelty is not currently 

allowed in partition actions. The court may approve or disapprove the referee’s report, or order the property 

sold by partition by sale. If the court approves owelty payments, the partition in kind cannot be completed until 

all owelty payments have been made.  

Upon approving a partition in kind, the court shall file a decree describing each parcel of real property or article 

of personal property allotted to each owner and enter judgment against each property owner for their 

apportioned costs of the action. A certified copy of the decree shall be filed with the county recorder and a copy 

provided to the county auditor in each county where the partitioned property is located. 

Requires the referee to file a report with the court if the referee is unable to make a partition in kind as ordered 

by the court. If such partition involves personal property, the court shall order a sale of the property without 

further notice. If the partition involves real property, the court must set a hearing after which the court may 

order a partition by sale or order another disposition of the property.  

The referee’s report for a partition by sale must include a recommendation for the appropriate public or private 

sale process and a copy of the appraisal for the property. The referee must provide notice of the sale by 

publication in a newspaper of general circulation in the counties where the property to be partitioned is located. 

The referee must report all proposed sales to the court and the court may approve or disapprove such sales. No 

real property shall be conveyed prior to approval of the court. Requires property subject to partition to be sold 

free of liens, except those liens against the entire property. Upon court approval, the referee must file a 

referee’s deed that has to be recorded in the counties where the partitioned property is located.  

Requires the court to order a reasonable fee, taxed as costs, for the plaintiff’s attorney in a partition of real 

property. In addition, if the plaintiff is the losing contestant in any contest arising from the partition action, the 

plaintiff’s attorney fees related to such contest shall not be taxed as costs. This is a change from the current rule 

of civil procedure that requires such fees to be taxed against the losing contestant. Does not change the court’s 

ability to order reasonable compensation for any appraisers, referees, and attorneys involved in a partition 

action. Requires that such compensation shall be part of costs. The court shall have a hearing on the referee’s 

final report. Any payment of proceeds of less than $10,000 from a partition by sale that are to go to a minor who 

does not have a conservator appointed are to be paid to the minor’s parents, guardian, or an adult who resides 

with the minor.  

Details procedures for partition in kind of heirs property as defined in the law. Provides that these provisions 

control in the event of a conflict with the general provisions of the new Code chapter. In a partition action 

involving heirs property in which a cotenant has requested partition in kind, requires the court to issue an initial 

decree appointing a referee and ordering an appraisal. After the referee files the appraisal, the court must 

conduct a hearing to determine the fair market value of the heirs property. After the hearing the court must 

send notice of the fair market value to all cotenants of the heirs property. If at that time a cotenant requests 

that the heirs property be partitioned by sale, allows all other cotenants to elect to purchase the interest of a 

cotenant that has requested partition by sale of the heirs property. Provides a specific time period in which a 

cotenant has to elect to purchase such interest, provides a determination of fractional ownership of each 

cotenant’s interest in the heirs property before and after purchase of such interest, provides the time frame for 

a cotenant to pay for an interest such cotenant has elected to purchase from another cotenant, and provides for 

reallocation of all cotenants’ interests in the heirs property based on the payments made, or not made, by the 

electing cotenants.  
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Allows a cotenant to petition the court to authorize the sale of the interest of a cotenant named as a defendant 

in the action who does not appear in the action. If the court authorizes such sale, the value of the interest of the 

nonappearing cotenant shall be determined by the court.  

If all payments are made by the electing cotenants, the court shall order the heirs property to be partitioned in 

kind unless the court determines that a partition in kind will result in great prejudice to the cotenants as a 

group. The court is required to consider the totality of eight factors as detailed in the law in making such a 

determination. If the court orders the heirs property to be partitioned in kind, the partition shall be conducted 

per the partition in kind procedures detailed in the general provisions of the new Code chapter. If the court 

orders the heirs property to be partitioned by sale, the partition shall be conducted per the partition by sale 

procedures as detailed in the general provisions of the new Code chapter. 

Repeals Code chapter 651, Code 2018. 

Effective July 1, 2018 

Other 

HF 637—ELIMINATION OF TECH ADVISORY COUNCIL (JBIT)   
Code section 8B.8 related to the technology advisory council is repealed.  

Effective April 17, 2018 

HF2277—INSPECTION & EXAMINATION OF CERTAIN PUBLIC RECORDS UNDER THE 

CUSTODY OF THE STATE ARCHIVIST OR A COUNTY REGISTRAR (APPELLATE CLERK) 
New section 22.16 allows for the examination and copying of a public record that is an archive as defined in 

section 305.2 that was created at least 100 years prior to the request.  A public record meeting the requirements 

for examination and copying shall not be made available if the public record is ordered to be sealed and is not 

subject to inspection by any federal or state court or is otherwise prohibited from being disclosed under any 

federal law, rule, or regulation. 

Under code section 144.43, concerning vital records, the following vital records in the custody of the county 

registrar may be inspected and copied as a right of chapter 22: 

- A record of birth 

- A record of marriage 

- A record of divorce, dissolution of marriage, or annulment of marriage 

- A record of a death if the death was not a fetal death 

Under code section 144.43, concerning vital records, the following vital records in the custody of the state 

archivist may be registrar may be inspected and copied as a right of chapter 22: 

- A record of birth that is a least 75 years old 

- A record of marriage that is a least 75 years old 

- A record of divorce, dissolution of marriage, or annulment of marriage that is at least 75  years old 

- A record of death or fetal death, either of which is at least 50 years old 

https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/publications/LGE/87/Attachments/HF637_GovLetter.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/8B.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/publications/LGE/87/Attachments/HF2277_GovLetter.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/publications/LGE/87/Attachments/HF2277_GovLetter.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/305.2.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/144.43.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/22.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/144.43.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/22.pdf
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Effective July 1, 2018 

SF481—SANCTUARY CITIES 
COMPLETION OF SENTENCE IN FEDERAL CUSTODY 

New section 825.3 requires the court in a criminal proceeding in this state in which the sentence requires a 

defendant subject to an immigration detainer request to be confined in a correctional facility, to issue an order 

at the time of sentencing, or at a later date, requiring the correctional facility in which the defendant is to be 

confined to require the defendant to be transferred to serve in federal custody the final portion of the 

defendant’s sentence, not to exceed a period of seven days, if a facility or officer determines that the change in 

the place of confinement will facilitate the seamless transfer of the defendant into federal custody. A defendant 

shall be transferred pursuant to the bill only if appropriate officers of the federal government consent to the 

transfer of a defendant into federal custody under the circumstances described in the bill. 

CIVIL ACTION 

New section 825.8 creates a process for complaints and civil action.  Requires the attorney general to file a civil 

action in district court to enjoin any ongoing violation of the requirements of the bill by a local entity no later 

than 30 days after the date on which the notification is received. Notwithstanding any other provision of law to 

the contrary, a local entity shall not be eligible to receive any state funds if the local entity intentionally violates 

the bill.  The bill permits a local entity to petition the district court that heard the civil action brought pursuant 

to the bill to seek a declaratory judgment that the entity is in full compliance with the bill in order to restore the 

eligibility to receive state funds. 

ATTORNEY GENERAL DATABASE 

New section 825.10 requires the attorney general to develop, post, and maintain a searchable database listing 

each local entity for which a final judicial determination that the entity has intentionally violated the 

requirements of the bill has been made. 

 

Effective July 1, 2018 

 

 

 

https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/publications/LGE/87/Attachments/SF481_GovLetter.pdf



